Tim Burton on Rainbow Goth Shit

May 3, 2011 § Leave a comment

Truffaut:

Your latest film, Alice in Wonderland, seems very visually oriented, even more so than your earlier films. Was this intentional?

Burton:

It was pretty intentional. You see, at this point, I’d say I’m most concerned about branding. If a character seems a bit nuanced, I’ll be sure to flatten it out so that it can fit into a plastic box and be marketed as an action figure. Will this sell to teenagers who wear “You laugh at me because I’m different, I laugh at you because you’re all the same” t-shirts? What’s the ideal ratio of Johnny Depp to white face paint for getting alternative preteens horny?

These are the kinds of questions that plagued my mind once I got the treatment. Great visuals make for great tchotchkes.

Truffaut:

It’s ironic that you chose to adapt Alice in Wonderland for the screen, considering that your movies now constitute a space that leaves me wondering why I’m there.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tim Burton on Rainbow Goth Shit at Truffaux//Errbody.

meta

